JesusWalk Bible Study Forum

Q2. The Upward Call of God

• 1 month later...
  • Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I've actually heard a loud thought that wasn't from me. The thought said "you are here to seek the truth". I was around 12 or 13 at the time. A vision accompanied the thought. I believe I was called to teach. I haven't received anything since that would re-confirm the teaching. However, I have been teaching art for two years, so that may be part of the plan. I believe that my straying from God dimmed my hearing. Thank God he brought me back to the fold 4 years ago. I know my hearing His voice will increase as I grow closer to Him. I know He is always speaking to us and it is our sins that prevent us from hearing Him. The content of the call is to preach/teach His message to others.

Being called upwards by God is like feeling the love of someone that you hold very special in your heart, someone that you love and they want to spend time with you. Like being chosen one out of many for a very important position. I think that anyone who is a real Christian has been called by God at some point or another. I think that God

Q2. (3:14) What is it like to be called upwards by God? Have you ever experienced this? What causes God's call to become dim in our hearing? How can we renew our hearing of his call? What is the content or specifics of this message or summons or call?

Being called upwards by God is paradox, in order to go up in God you need to go deeper in Him. For me daily life's busyness dims my hearing. I work in a doctor's office and the pace is so fast and constant that loose conscious touch with the Lord, forget to ask Him before I say or make a decision that I should have stopped for a moment and breathed a quick prayer.