JesusWalk Bible Study Forum

Q2. Blaming God for our troubles.

• Replies 188
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Gideon says if God is with them, why hasn't He done the things that He did in past times that protected His people?

No. Gideon ignores the fact that the people had stopped worshipping God and was worshipping idols and other evil deeds God had forbidden.

We blame God because we want an "out"! We don't want to think we are responsible for our turning from God to our own desires.

The danger is that we cannot turn our backs on God, ignore Him, and expect Him to protect and save us from the consequences of our actions.

Helen Spaulding

Author of: A Bruised Reed...

Life of Abe Lincoln's Grandmother

Hi this is my first time here and I am looking forward to being a part of this wonderful study. I love bible studies and do them ofen. To go deeper into the word brings greater wisdom and understanding to me. I never thought of Gideon as a Prayer Warrior and since I love to prayer I am excited at looking at this concept through the Word.

Blessings

I believe that God is always with us.... some times we just don't see how He moves in our lives because we expecting Him to move in a certain way.

This resticts our view of how great He really is. I am hoping to have my eyes opened to see Him in a greater light and learn not to restrict Him in moving in my life by thinking He has to move a certain way.

Gideon was seeing himself as a victim of circumstances. Victims always blame everything and everyone around them. This "point of view" requires us to shift blame from ourselves, since a victim cannot believe in his own choices. The principle of free will is a factor in our ability to see circumstances, and ourselves in the midst of these circumstances. (the word circumstance depicts that which "circles" us - with us in the middle)