JesusWalk Bible Study Forum

Q3. Legalism and Pride

• 2 weeks later...
On 8/28/2019 at 10:10 AM, Pastor Ralph said:

Q3. (Philippians 3:7-8) How do legalism and the resulting spiritual pride prevent us from trusting in Christ by faith, and knowing him? How has your pride in yourself kept you from drawing closer to Jesus?

A. Oh, been there done that, as a new believer. I studied to "catch up" with other believers, and studied "to know what to do, and how to act."  Memorized some verses to impress. My damaged childhood caused such feelings of inferiority that I tried to "be as good" as others by obeying the law. The church we were attending at that time taught the Law, and grace was just a misunderstood word. It wasn't until I was baptized in the Holy Spirit and He began to teach me that the law "kills" and grace "gives life" and that when "I compared myself with others and measured myself by them, I was without understanding or a fool". 2 Corinthians 10:12) What freedom it is to live in Christ and to be growing in Grace and knowing Him and trusting Him alone!

B. When I was "trusting myself and what I knew (very little) and was trying to "grow" myself to "meausure up"...an impossibility which produced guilt and shame and a sense of failure. I was focused on me and my "Performance." What joy I experience every day,  knowing He is always right here in me, around me, loving me, speaking words of love and encouragement to me, growing me in grace and deeds, and that I can at last be me, flawed, imperfect, childlike, curious, but with a new heart and mind, loved as if I'm His only daughter,  ...all to His honor and glory.

Q3. (Philippians 3:7-8) How do legalism and the resulting spiritual pride prevent us from trusting in Christ by faith, and knowing him?

I believe it leads and/or lends to Self-Righteousness which in turn lends to self-sufficiency, justifying more than surrendering, repenting and asking for help.